Home‎ > ‎News Flashes‎ > ‎

New ward boundary for Bathavon South from May 2019

posted 11 Aug 2018, 04:11 by Parish Council Communications
The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new ward boundaries across Bath and North East Somerset.

This follows three phases of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council ward across Bath and North East Somerset.

The Commission’s final recommendations - which can be viewed here - propose that Bath and North East Somerset should be represented by 59 councillors in the future: six fewer than the current arrangements. The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent twenty-six two-councillor wards and seven one-councillor wards.

The proposals mean that 28 current wards will change with nine staying the same.

In response to local feedback during the latest phase of consultation, the Commission has changed some of the proposals it put forward in May. 

Freshford is in the current Bathavon South ward. As a result of the consultation, the Commission has added Claverton, Monkton Combe and South Stoke parishes to Bathavon South ward. Camerton parish also argued that it should be part of Bathavon South ward rather than Radstock ward. The Commission has agreed with the evidence presented to it and has changed its recommendations as well as adding Marksbury parish to Bathavon South ward so that it is included with other rural areas. 

This means that, subject to parliamentary approval, from May 2019 Bathavon South ward will comprise the current six parishes - Freshford, Hinton Charterhouse, Monkton Combe, Shoscombe, Southstoke and Wellow - plus Camerton, Claverton, Combe Hay, Dunkerton and Tunley, Englishcombe, Marksbury and Priston. The new ward will be roughly twice the size of the current ward. It is forecast to have an electorate of 4407 and will be represented by two councillors.